Established in 1948, Peterborough City Rowing Club has evolved into one of the country’s leading centres dedicated to this most enduring and enjoyable of sports. From it’s humble ‘tin shed’ beginnings the club has relocated twice during its six decades, finally moving from its riverside setting in 1983 to the current Thorpe Meadows location as part of a city-wide strategy implemented by Peterborough Development Corporation. Comprehensively extended and improved by virtue of Lottery funding in 1999 Peterborough is now the envy of many local and national rowing clubs.
Since 1983 the club has grown and today boasts a membership in excess of 200 people. Events are held on the multi-lane course in June and August of each year and are extremely popular with rowers and scullers from rowing clubs from all over the country. Every February the adjacent River Nene is host to the Head of the River Race which again attracts hundreds of entries.